





FALL BAND CONCERT September 30, 2021

-PROGRAM-

FRONT ENSEMBLE FROM THE 2021 THUNDER MARCHING BAND

Excerpt from IN PLAIN SIGHT

ADVANCED PERCUSSION

MARIMBA SOLOIST – MADELINE SHUGRUE

WIND ENSEMBLE

Ave Maria	Anton Bruckner, arr. M. Reid
Kingfishers Catch Fire.	John Mackey

Program Notes

Avalanche Lake by Patrick Speranza was inspired by a trip to Glacier National Park. Speranza was inspired by the views of the forest mountains that surround the park and the long waterfalls that he witnessed on a five-mile hike.

A Longford Legend is A collection of Irish street ballades. This piece was commissioned in 1996 and premiered with the composer conducting. It is based on the composer's musical interpretations of three poems found in a collection of 18th-century Irish ballades, and is written in the style of Grainger, Holst, and Vaughan Williams.

Ave Maria was composed by Anton Buckner in 1861 at the age of 37. Buckner was a celebrated composer, organist, and teacher. While there are many settings of the Ave Maria text, only Bruckner's composition captures and translates the powerful presence of the organ with a brilliant blend of Renaissance melodic lines with chromaticism and harmonic language of the Romantic era.

Kingfishers Catch Fire was commissioned in 2007 by Mamoru Nakata and a consortium of Japanese wind bands. A "kingfisher" is a bird with stunning, brilliantly colored feathers that appear in sunlight as if they are on fire. Kingfisher's are extremely shy birds and are rarely seen, but when they are seen, they are undeniably beautiful. The composer would like the listener to imagine the bird flying out into the sunlight. Listen for a musical reference to Stravinsky's "Firebird."

Advanced Percussion

Nathan Brown
Michael Gagliano
Chloe Green
Bao Hoang Van
Isaiah Hoffman
Taylor Keck
Justin Kwong

Katharine Lipari
Emmir Lotts
Ginger Money
Steele Neverman
Diego Parra Longoria
Asha Pitti
Kaileena Riley

Madeline Shugrue Keegan Twenter Spencer Walsh Paige Whitton Sam Yorio

Symphonic Band

Bass Clarinet
Jessa Davis*
Duncan Schultz

Clarinet
Will Darby*
Kristyn DeGraff
Kacey Tom
Sofia Quirindongo
Sinay Roanhorse-Orona

Euphonium

Joshua Kenchington*

Flute
Allison Gould*
Alayna Rivers
Elia Woods
Bella Stoddard
Isys Salazar
Savannah McGuire

Alto Sax
Emma Riehle*
Keith Fitch
Cadence Moore
Nicole Lipari

<u>Bari Sax</u> Evelyn Enos*

Tenor Sax
Alex Stanbridge*
Gerrick Abad

Trombone
Nathan Torres*
Julio Ramirez
Juan Carlos Garcia

Trumpet
Ben Sklodowski*
Harry Pitpit
Isabel Smyth

Trumpet (cont.)
Max Fettkether

Tuba
Andrew Fuller*
Jim Brophy
Nick Harris

Percussion
Kereem Alfred-Allen*
Brayden Grindler
Kelly Moore
Max Quillinan
Sarah Ross
Gavinn Roth
Tyler Sparks

Principal Chair *

Concert Band

Bass Clarinet	<u>Horn</u>	Trumpet
Angelina Sklodowski*	Jackson Wheeler*	Nolan Kirby*
	Ethan Chambers	Adrianna Meriwether
<u>Clarinet</u>	Cyrus Hembree	Xavier Khoundara
Momona Ohno*		Graciella Miranda
Connor Belakovsky	<u>Oboe</u>	Leonidas Fainekos-
Erin Chon	Natalia Riehle*	Ishiwata
Garrett Fernandez		Chanel Noah
Mario Gutierrez	Alto Sax	Gavin Armbruster
Sophia Ackley	J.J. Wentland*	Aaric Hrabe
Luke Lebario	Nicholas Tussing	David Lowe
Alexis Bailon Cubillo	Noah Teplitsky	
Zaira Pena	Ben Goldstein	<u>Tuba</u>
Tikari Draper	Madison Steele-Warskow	Chloe Moore
	Owen Stanley	Thor Norman
<u>Euphonium</u>	Femi Akinmusire	LeWills Caneus
Danny Lau*	Alayna Somyk	
Gavin Staples	Brayden Klessens	<u>Percussion</u>
	Chase Sexton	Chloe Green*
<u>Flute</u>	Armando Fernandez	Spencer Walsh
Caden Hyduchak*		Emmir Lotts
Kaelyn McClean	Bari Sax	Taylor Keck
Helen Tran	Abigail Weinberg*	Asha Pitti
Amaya King		Sawyer Eberlein
Grace Chambers	<u>Trombone</u>	Diego Parra
Noah Horner	Evie Lacroix*	Nemo Rodriguez
Iris Morales	Abigail Hoyt	
	Vincent Jerome	Principal Chair *

Wind Ensemble

Bass Clarinet
Saranna Tran*

Bassoon Emma Lines*

Clarinet
Brian Park*
Ayla Zobrist
Wiseon Hwang
Brianna Morales
Isaac Hong
Aidan Klein
Cosette Carter
Samantha Perek
Nathan Xie

<u>Euphonium</u> Jordan Salsburg* McKinley Sydnor

Flute
Lily Rios*
Elizabeth Ovelil
Megan Hulse
Stefanie Fan
Chelsea Condon
Savannah Yu

<u>Horn</u>
Thomas Holtom*
Monica Woodruff

<u>Oboe</u>

Caitlin O'Reilly*

Jasmine McCoy

Alto Sax
Nicole Lipari*
John Dyjak
Taylor Somyk
Clara Buddecke
Andrew Postik

<u>Bari Sax</u> Alexander Stanbridge* Eric Parsons

Tenor Sax
Katherine Rayter*
Amelia Carter
Elle Armbruster

Trombone
Logan Burleigh*
Joseph Willbrandt
Rebecca Moore
Andrew Elwell

Trombone (cont.)
Joshua Carter

Trumpet
Rylan Gray*
John Zhang
Jason Bruzas
Samantha South
Jimmy Lau

Tuba
Andrew Fuller*
Darren Sutherland
Matthew Machado Cento

Percussion
Nathan Brown
Paige Whitton
Justin Kwong
Katharine Lipari
Bao Hoang Van
Isaiah Hoffman
Maddy Shugrue
Kaileena Riley

Principal Chair *



October 2nd Highland HS Show
October 16th Basha Show
October 23rd Corona Show
October 30th "Thunder in the Hills"
November 6th Arizona State Marching Band - "Semi-Finals"
November 13th AzMBA State Championships
November 20th Arizona State Marching Band Championships

SPECIAL THANKS

To our band parents for their continued support in providing private lessons, driving to and from sectionals and extra rehearsals, measuring, altering, and repairing concert and marching uniforms, moving equipment to and from performances, designing and building props, shooting and producing photo and video, procuring and serving meals and refreshments, soliciting sponsorships, general fundraising, designing spiritwear, programs, ads, and vehicle wraps, managing and maintaining web and social media, chaperoning field trips, planning and executing family dinners, banquets, fundraisers, and picnics, and all the other behind-the-scenes tasks they tirelessly perform.

To our very fine and supportive Desert Vista Administration: Superintendent of Schools: Dr. Kevin J. Mendivil, Principal: Michael Deigman, Assistant Principals: Temako Roque, T.J. Snyder, and David Klecka.

And for their continued partnership in sharing the DV auditorium stage: Darlene Wedington-Clark, Orchestra; Meg Foote, Choir; and Jesse Ploog-Bacik, Drama

2021-2022 Sponsors



Estes Law Firm, PLLC.

Office: (480) 656-3733 Fax: (480) 656-3833

4435 E. Chandler Boulevard Suite 200 Phoenix, AZ 85048



2021-2022 Sponsors



















